New Job…

October 21, 2010 at 11:59 am | Posted in change | Leave a comment

So, here I am on Thursday. Three and a half days into the new job. It’s been a lot of things that I haven’t felt in a while.

 

It’s been scary. As I’ve mentioned before, I left a company I had been with for 11 years. Well, almost 11 years, but close enough. I had an idea of the type of work I would be doing at the new place and even with this knowledge, I was terrified. Questions like: Would they like me, would i fit in with the team, could I handle it, all these fluttered through my head last week and through early this week. So far, most of those fears and questions have been proved wrong. Yay.

It’s been tough. I walked out of my old job and its predominantly drag, drop, and configure environment and plopped myself right back into actual coding. But not coding like I was used to. This is the new stuff, the stuff you get Bachelors and Master’s degrees to learn. Its alot of learning on the fly, and coding by the seat of your pants. In short, it’s intense, and that’s fine by me. I’ve always felt better when I’ve been challenged, either by work or by school. It makes me think, it organizes my mind and seems to make other things click better. Yay.

It’s been worth it. So far, while I’ve had moments or trepidation, today i had my first “a-ha!” moment as well as the first task I was able to complete on my own. It took way longer than it should have but I got it working. I just want to show it to my boss to get his ok on it, but its pretty much ready to go. It’s not a huge thing, but like the catchphrase in the movie What about Bob?,   “Baby Steps.” I’m ready to baby step my way to being here 11 years (if not more). I’m ready to baby step myself  to a better and more productive life. Baby steps are still moving forward and sometimes that’s all we can manage, but its still progress.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

