Ok… enough of that..

May 6, 2010 at 2:19 pm | Posted in life | 4 Comments

This has been on my mind for a while and I’m finally taking the time to sit down and write about it. Now let me preface this by saying this post is by no means an attack at anyone’s faith. You believe what you believe and that’s fantastic. But what happens when your religion starts being thrown into my life?

Most times it propagates as “My friend’s Aunt Phyllis is going in for surgery. Please pray for her.” or some variation thereof. (I don’t have a friend whose aunt is named Phyllis and I apologize if you do. I mean her no harm, I’m sure she is a wonderful person.) It seems harmless enough. But when you break it down and look at it it just doesnt make any sense, even from a faith perspective.

Let’s first look at it from my atheistic heathen point of view. Or maybe it’s just a scientific point of view, or maybe I’m just a skeptic of religion. Anyhow, its mine so here it is. Aunt Phyllis is made up of elements and cells and all that good stuff we learned about in Jr. High Biology class. What is God (Allah, Buddha, etc) made of? Can we see him, touch him? Is there any way to prove he exists? I can see and prove Aunt Phyllis exists, and I can prove her ailment exists. God, not so much.

Also Aunt Phyllis’ doctor went to Med School just like hundreds of other doctors in the same field. He will be either skilled enough to correct what needs correcting or not. Yes, maybe luck is involved too but for the most part, it’s a battle between Aunt Phyllis’ medical problem vs. the skill of the surgeon or doctor to fix said problem, whatever course they think is appropriate.

Ok, now we will look at the religious view and why that doesn’t make sense either. The big thing I keep hearing from religious friends of mine is god’s will or god’s plan. “Why did that little 4 year old have to die?” he standard answer you get is “God’s Will” or “It was God’s plan”. Ok, I can accept that, but if that’s the case and God has a plan for each of us, what good does prayer do then? If God is in control and he knows the final outcome for all of us, what good is prayer, other than maybe giving people a false sense that they can somehow affect or influence the uncontrollable. Prayer by definition is “A reverent petition made to God, a god, or another object of worship.” So if his plan or will is already drawn, what difference does the prayer make?

There’s something else that confuses me about the religious thing, or the people who follow it. Using Aunt Phyllis still (I know, I keep abusing her), she is sick with something awful. We are all asked for prayers. She get’s better and “Our prayers were answered”, while if she gets sicker or dies, it’s “Well it must have been her time” or the aforementioned “Well it was god’s plan.” How can you have faith, like that? If we get the outcome we want, its all praise to him for answering us, if its not, then we just attribute to his plan. Maybe he isn’t there in the first place, maybe we are just bits of protoplasm floating randomly across the universe. Maybe.

And don’t get me started on athletes who thank god after a touchdown or home run. If God does happen to exist, I highly doubt he is concerned with the one touchdown Oakland scored.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I know when my parents pray, they pray “thy will be done”. They may pray that Aunt Phyllis gets well, but they also add “thy will be done”. If Aunt Phyllis doesn’t get well, then it really was god’s will. (So they believe.) *shrug*

    I talked with you about this before, and I told you that my first thoughts were – do I know Aunt Phyllis, what is she sick with/of, and I don’t pray. For me, I don’t have a whole lot of time to expend energy into people I don’t know. Sorry.

    When people tell me “I’m praying for you” – I just say thank you and move on. People need to believe whatever they believe to get through their day. Whatever.

    peace…

  2. I have a problem with “gods plan” was letting my husband love his daughter more than life itself and she be killed in a car accident. What a kind and giving god…. I don’t do religion. The only thing I could possibly feel good about is the idea of her roaming pain free and free of the ignorance I have to deal with in this world….. But in order to believe that I’d have to have religion. So, she’s gone. I love her and miss her, but she died. Death I know is a for sure thing, god and heaven… Not so much.

  3. Oh and fyi- I had an aunt phyllis and she was a drunk and mean. Prayer wouldn’t have helped. 🙂

  4. Ducky, may I stand up and applaud? I do have the affliction of asking for good mojo or *juju* but I mean it in the “Positive thought can produce unexpected results” kinda way. Also, its pretty universal whether you believe in God, Allah, Jehovah or the Flying Spaghetti Monster.. Mostly, its just for my own peace of mind and to know that others are supporting me.. But yes, I once posted to facebook that I was worried about a biopsy and some ridiculous aunt felt the need to paste a book of freakin’ scripture in my status comments. Ugh, just ugh.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

