Happy Anniversary!

April 15, 2010 at 10:54 am | Posted in Marraige | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

So today is the 5th wedding anniversary for my wife and I. It is a milestone anniversary for many reasons. For one, we have now been married longer than I was even with my first wife. This is a big psychological one for me. Proving to myself that I am not broken and am able to be in a long term relationship without it breaking.

Also 5’s and 10’s are how people  seem to mark their lives. Like if my grandfather was still alive, he and my gram (my moms folks) would be celebrating their 70th wedding anniversary this year. Actually a funny story comes to mind from my wedding to the current wife. We did a rose dance, all the married couples come up to dance and then the DJ says if you have been married less than X years, to leave the dance floor.The whole thing was a setup. We knew who the last couple would be and did it intentionally. But as we are dancing we hear whispers from Nikki’s godparents thinking they would be the longest couple. The wife and i giggled to ourselves and kept dancing. When it was over my moms folks were still dancing, having been married 65 years at that point.

But anyhow, back to my thought. 65 to 70 years. I mean just think of that. Look at your partner, and imagine looking at them for 65-70 years of your life. I thought to myself this am, just to get to 65 years together with the wife, I’ll need to live to 92. And what they saw together! 1940-2005. WWII, Korea, Vietnam, 12 presidents (FDR thru Bush II), the entirety of TV, the Cold War. It just boggles the mind sometimes. Here’s a pic of them at our wedding and one of me and the wife.

So, 5 years hence and whats changed. A lot. I am a better, stronger and more confident man now that I was before. I am more financially responsible (with moments of weakness of course), but she helps me stay on course. I am the ship and she is my lighthouse. And I know no matter what rough seas life throws at me, I can navigate safely home with her love. I pray for 60 more years like the last five.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a wonderful post! Congratulations on your anniversary and I’ll raise my glass to your wish for many more!

    PS: I really liked the “I am the ship and she is my lighthouse” part…but I’m really a romantic fool at heart anyway. Despite my tweets 🙂

  2. Congrats!!!

    I’m so happy for you both. 🙂
    Here’s to 60 more years.

    peace…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

