It’s the power of…

February 5, 2010 at 2:02 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Music! Music is a funny thing. It cane make us remember things we thought we had long forgot. It can transport us to another time and place, make us smile, make us cry, or just make us think. Each of us has a few songs that invoke this kind of a response. I was listening to the radio this morning and one of mine came on and for 4 minutes, I was completely somewhere else. So I thought I’d list a couple of mine, and maybe after reading, some of yours will come to mind. And I’m sure ill add others of mine too.

David Ball – Riding with Private Malone
This one hits me on a few levels. First off, I love corvettes in general. My dad has one and I am absolutely in love with it. But also it reminds me of my uncle, who is also my namesake. He was military like Private Malone was in the song (Army vs Marines, but still). I never got to meet my uncle. We was killed in a jeep accident over Memorial Day weekend years before I was born. From what my mom tells me, even though we wouldnt have been blood related (mom is adopted) we would have gotten along well. We both have/had a love of model trains and of the Red Sox. I believe he is my guardian angel. I’ve done some really dumb things in my life in vehicles. BUt I always seem to just make it through without something catastrophic happening. Like in the song, I believe its that guardian angel nudging the car the right way, or pushing down on it to keep all the wheels on the ground. Whenever I hear this song, I think of him and wish I could have just shook his hand once.

Rascal Flatts – I’m Movin On
“I’m Movin On” was released in late 2001 just about when my ex wife and I decided to end our marraige. It was a very tough time for us both. I still loved her but I was coming to realize that I couldnt live wih her anymore. We had tried splitting before and this time we knew it was for good. We, ok.. I, was becoming very resentful of certain things and began doing things intentionally to hurt her. LIke it says in the song ” I never dreamed home would end up where I dont belong”, When we got married, I never thought it would all be ending any ay other than one of us passing. When i hear it, i usually get a bit sad, reminiscing about the good times we had, but knowing with each mile, something down the road was waiting for me.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

