Holidays Pt. 1

December 28, 2009 at 1:16 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Ok, so I know I haven’t posted in a while. Like with everyone else, the holidays invaded and threw real life into total disarray.  Wednesday afternoon as I was attempting to finish up my work for the year,  I went get lunch and something to drink.  My stomach had been a little tight beforehand but I had just chalked it up to nerves since I normally get a little keyed up the day before I fly. Shortly after lunch I realized it was more than that. I’ll only summarize the next few hours for you since the details are pretty gross. I left work early, barely made it home and spent the next 14 or so hours throwing up, getting the chills, exhaustion, shaking, etc.  I even tripped and fell hard during the night on one run to the bathroom.

So the next morning, the wife and I got up early and talked. Apparently my mom had called and talked to the wife about things and the discussion about skipping Christmas came up. My mom was said she was ok with it and also brought up imposing bad weather in Detroit which we were scheduled to fly through.  So the wife and I talked and it was eventually agreed we would skip Christmas with my folks and postpone the trip until Feb. Its weird. I’m almost 32 years old and this will be the first year I dont see my family for either thanksgiving or christmas. I’m still working through that.

So, because we didnt end up going to see my folks, and it was now noon on xmas eve, we had no food in the house. Friends of ours volunteered to bring food and cook for us for xmas. It was very generous of them and we were thankful that we wouldnt be alone for the holiday, not that we wouldnt have been happy just the two of us. Anyhow, Christmas day went fine until later in the evening when my wife started showing signs of illness. Apparently the germs I had were still in the air and had attached to her. So we began to take care of here. A few hours later, our friend Chris also started to show signs. Again to make a long story short, in the end, in the span of 5 days, all 4 of us went through our own version of what I had originally.

Now I love my friends to no end, but after 5 days of healthy houseguests, the novelty wears off. After 5 days of round robin sickness, we just wanted to be alone. The illnesses did pass, we hugged and the friends left and the wife and I are now alone again in our house, thankful for our friends, but also thankful for the peace and sanity that has returned.  (I write this as I am alone on the couch, in my underwear. I am on vacation till the 4th of Jan and all is right in the world.)

Here’s to hoping for a better New Years Eve!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Uhhh…yah! I’m all for alone time…holidays are crazy enough. Hope everyone is recovering well & enjoying relaxation time. 🙂

    Thx, A. 🙂

    • Thanks darlin. Yes, everyone is now healthy again. Thank goodness. But the full moon is coming. I’m sure that’ll stir up enough.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

